July 10, 2017

July 10, 2017

PSALM 133-139

Focus Verse: Search me, O God, and know my heart;
Try me and know my anxious thoughts;
And see if there be any hurtful way in me,
And lead me in the everlasting way.
Psalm 139:23-24

 

I love Psalm 139. It has very much become the “pro-life” Bible verse (but let’s please be careful in affiliating any sort of political stance with the word of God. LIFE is sacred and supported by this Bible verse, not the Democratic or Republican parties). But let’s not forget that this chapter applies to us as well.

 

God knows us, and yes, He knew us before we were even born. He made us, so He knows us better than we know ourselves! He knows what makes us tick, He knows what we need, He knows how to make us ‘run efficiently’ and to the best of our ability. Who else can you say this about?

 

I love my wife, and the longer we are married, the better we get at being able to tell what the other person needs – not wants, but needs. Other times though, we get confused…well, I should say I get confused. I walk past a mountain of dirty dishes in the sink and it never once crosses my mind that my wife might need me to wash them. There’s a mountain of dirty clothes in the upstairs hamper and I just toss another set of on top without thinking that maybe my wife needs me to take that hamper downstairs and start a load of laundry.

 

I know my wife…but I have limits to how well I know her. Not so with God. He knows our deepest thoughts before we even think them. He knows where we have been and what we have done. Even more so, He knows where we are going – who we will be, what we will do, who we could be if we give our life over to Him. He sees us from every angle, past, present and future.

 

All of this should give you an incredible amount of trust in Him. He not only knows you this well, but everyone else on the planet. And He knows how you fit in with all of those other people He has brought you into contact with. He sees the entire puzzle of you life and knows how to put it together perfectly. Which means, for those of you following Christ right now, where you are and what you are doing at this exact moment, no matter how messy it may seem, has been ordered and ordained by God to ‘fit’ into your ‘puzzle’. You are here for a reason and a purpose. Trust it. Trust Him.

 

What it also means is that we can pray these two verse and trust God. “Search me and know my heart”, “Test me and see if there are any faults in me”, “God, show me where I am wrong and tell me how to fix it.” I’ll be honest, I used to pray these two verses every morning for a season. I’ve gotten away from it, and I need to get back to doing it.

 

Do you trust God to correct you? None of us likes correction. None of us likes being told that we are wrong. But if we will accept the correction from the God who knows us better than anyone else, the God who makes our whole life fit together, we will become the best version of us as we can possibly be.

 

When is the last time you let God correct you? Why not ask Him to start today?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

