July 9, 2017

July 9, 2017

PSALM 126-132

Focus Verse: O Lord, my heart is not proud, nor my eyes haughty;
Nor do I involve myself in great matters,
Or in things too difficult for me.
Surely I have composed and quieted my soul;
Like a weaned child rests against his mother,
My soul is like a weaned child within me.
O Israel, hope in the Lord
From this time forth and forever.
Psalm 131

 

It’s ok to have blind faith. It’s ok to believe like a child. To ask a ton of questions, but when your mom or dad says, “I don’t know, it just is!” to the constant stream of “Why?” questions that you ask, to simply say, “Ok” and then run off and play. That always amazes me about my children. They always ask questions about everything, but in the end, I don’t know that they even really care what the answer is.

 

When does that change in us? I wrote two days ago about the Gospel being a simple truth; something easy enough for everyone to grasp, something that, in fact, we can’t reason ourselves to. We see something very similar here.

 

I think our pride is what demands answers. At some point, we, as masters of our own universe, want to understand everything. We think we know best, so we want to be intelligent enough to get to the answers on our own. But this just isn’t possible. NO MATTER WHAT YOU BELIEVE IN. Every belief, even non-belief, requires certain leaps of faith. To believe that we are all here because two atoms appeared out of nothingness and smacked together to start a cataclysmic process of energy transference (I’m trying to sound really smart and scientific…can you tell?) that created everything you see before you requires a leap of faith that something can come out of nothing.

 

I’ll be the first to admit…all that’s over my head. In other words, I don’t need to involve myself in great matters or things to difficult for me. And my soul is ok with that. Before I was walking with God, I would think about that stuff all the time. It would keep me up at night as I wondered about the mysteries of the universe.

 

But now, all my eggs are in one basket – HIS basket – and I have so much more peace. Sure, I have my core beliefs. I believe in the Gospel with all of my heart and soul. I can tell you why I believe in the Gospel and show you the proof of how it has changed me. I can prove my relationship with God by the things I’ve heard and seen and experienced, and what others have seen and heard and experienced through me. I’m not the man I used to be (praise God!), and the Gospel of Jesus Christ is the reason for that.

 

For some of the side streets of Christianity though, I choose to believe blindly. I can tell you why I think what I think, but at the end of the day, I’m like that kid asking “why”. If my Father in heaven says, “It just is”, I’m completely ok with that.

 

Choose the things that are worth involving yourself in, and let the other matters go. Focus your energy on loving on other people and helping the poor and needy, not fighting over whether the earth was literally created in 7 days or not or whether grape juice and unleavened bread can actually turn into someone’s body and blood.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

