July 7, 2017

July 7, 2017

PSALM 119

Focus Verse: The unfolding of Your words gives light;
It gives understanding to the simple.
Psalm 119:30

 

Here’s some of the best news of the Gospel: you don’t have to be a rocket scientist to figure this stuff out. You don’t have to have a Masters in Divinity, Doctorate in Biblical Studies or be some kind of crazy intelligent philosopher to discover the mysteries of God in the Gospel of Jesus Christ. In fact, through most of my experience, the exact opposite is true.

 

Don’t get me wrong, there are followers of Christ out there who are insanely intelligent (look no further than one of my heroes of the faith, Timothy Keller). In no way does any of this make following God an unintelligent move or mean that ‘religion’ is simply an outdated, feel good pain killer for the lower-class, devoid of reason and not for the educated; “an opiate for the masses” as Karl Marx would put it.

 

I have watched so many friends of mine reason their way right out of faith in God. They want indisputable proof. They want answers to every single question. They want a clear cut, iron-clad ‘religion’ to follow. I don’t think any of my friends would admit this, but their problem with Jesus is that He is too personal.

 

Think about it. You can’t reason yourself into a relationship. I met a really pretty girl in high school and asked her to go out with me. She said no…a lot! In fact, I gave her every single reason under the sun to why she should date me for an entire year. Not one of those reasons was good enough though. She just kept denying me. Then one day I got smart. It wasn’t the most romantic move on my part, but instead of giving her a list of my best qualities, a detailing of my gene-pool that would influence our future children or a promise of household chores I would agree to fulfill for the rest of our life together, I asked her to just give me a shot. Just give this relationship a chance.

 

That girl has been giving me a chance ever since and is now my wife.

 

It not a perfect analogy, but it does show this: you cannot reason yourself into a relationship. If you (or someone you know) are waiting for that perfect argument to show you that God exists, you’ll be waiting forever. If you’re waiting for that perfect sermon to push you to that next level, it’s never going to come. Because you’re waiting on the wrong thing.

 

Christianity is so unique among world religions. In fact, when Christianity first burst on the scenes, it wasn’t even considered a religion. It was only once people really got their hands on it and tried to bend it to their will instead of God’s will that it was considered a world religion. Before this the early Romans and Jews considered Christians atheists.

 

We need to get back to that. A ‘religion’ that is so dramatically different than anything else the world has to offer that we are considered atheists.

 

Christianity is a relationship, not a religion. That’s why the Gospel can be understood by anyone. Babies don’t have to be taught how to be in relationship with their mother, it’s just something they experience and accept. Husbands don’t have to be taught how to be in relationship with their wives (don’t confuse being in relationship with the levels of the relationship), friends don’t have to be taught how to be in relationship, even mortal enemies don’t have to be taught how to be in relationship.

 

So stop trying to reason your way to God. I’ll tell you the same thing I told my wife: just give Him a chance.

 

I have so much faith in my Savior that I guarantee once you give Him a chance, you will keep giving Him a chance everyday for all of eternity.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

