July 5, 2017

July 5, 2017

PSALM 108-114

Focus Verse: But You, O God, the Lord, deal kindly with me for Your name’s sake;
Because Your lovingkindness is good, deliver me;
For I am afflicted and needy,
And my heart is wounded within me.
I am passing like a shadow when it lengthens;
I am shaken off like the locust.
My knees are weak from fasting,
And my flesh has grown lean, without fatness.
I also have become a reproach to them;
When they see me, they wag their head.
Help me, O Lord my God;
Save me according to Your lovingkindness.
And let them know that this is Your hand;
You, Lord, have done it.
Psalm 109:21-27

 

Psalm 109 is an imprecatory psalm, meaning it is a psalm in which King David calls for God to judge and curse his enemies for the wicked things that they have done. That’s what makes this passage, found smack-dab in the middle, so interesting.

 

In these verses, David, immediately after asking God to give his enemies everything they deserve, turns the lens back on himself and asks God to give him everything GOD deserves. “Deal kindly with me for Your name’s sake”. In other words, “Don’t give me what I deserve, but give me what Your Name deserves.”

 

What a bold prayer! But this is exactly the confidence that we have when we approach the throne of God as His children. Because Jesus Christ took the punishment that we deserve on the cross, we can now ask God to deal with us kindly, the treatment the Jesus DID deserve. He takes what we deserve, we get what He deserves. What a lopsided transaction! What an amazing Savior!

 

Don’t stop there though. Look at David’s response to his request. We see a King who is completely humble before his God. We see a man who is poor in Spirit. And we see a man who is willing to acknowledge that in front of everyone. This passage ends with David saying, “And let them know that this is Your hand; You, Lord, have done it.”

 

David wants none of the credit. He wants none of the glory. This isn’t a blessing that has come because he serves the Lord so well. This isn’t a blessing that comes from anything he has had a part of. It’s all God. We must have this approach to the things of God. All we do for HIS glory. Rick Warren states in The Purpose Driven Life, “Humility is not thinking less of yourself, it’s thinking of yourself less.” And if I might tag on: …and thinking of God more.

 

It’s not going to be an overnight success (but with God, anything is possible!). It may take you an entire lifetime to get to this point. But the ultimate goal isn’t even to think of yourself less, it’s to not think of yourself at all. To become perfect – made in the image of Christ – would be to deflect all praise and glory to Him and direct all eyes off of you and on to Him.

 

Jesus gave us the eternal reward that He deserved…let’s give Him the praise and glory that He deserves…not by our might, not by our power, but by the power of HIS Spirit; a life surrendered to Him.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

