June 22, 2017

June 22, 2017

PSALM 46-50

Focus Verse: God is our refuge and strength,
A very present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change
And though the mountains slip into the heart of the sea;
Though its waters roar and foam,
Though the mountains quake at its swelling pride.
Psalm 46:1-3

 

What do you believe about God? What do you really believe? Like the kind of belief that changes how you do things. I believe that my car needs the oil changed for it to run, but I don’t believe in the date or mileage the repair shop puts on my windshield. So I get my oil changed, but when it happens is a little more spaced out than what the sticker says. I believe in it, but not enough to really do what it says.

 

I think some of us treat God this way. We’ll even tell people that we believe everything He says in His Word, but we don’t live like it. This is one of those verses. You can’t just come at it, read it and kind of let it change you. So here’s what we need to believe (and act on) if this verse is going to change us:

 

First, God is strong. Second, God is present. Not just present according to this verse, but very present.

 

First of all, God is strong enough to be your refuge and strength in absolutely any storm. He’s bigger than the storm. He’s stronger than all of your worst days combined. And He has promised that His strength is working for you!

 

Second, He is there with you through your suffering. He is there with you through the good times. And He isn’t just hanging around in the background. As a parent, there are times when I am with my kids and times when I am present with my kids. I’m with my kids when they are in the room, but I’m checking Facebook (and let me take this quick break for a PSA: parents, PUT DOWN YOUR PHONES, TABLETS, COMPUTERS AND BE PRESENT WITH YOUR CHILDREN. I stink at this and need to be better…so let’s be better together!). I am present with my kids when we are playing wrestle or building with Legos or playing with “little guys” as my son like to call his action figures.

 

God isn’t on Facebook when He’s with you. He is VERY PRESENT. And that doesn’t change with your circumstances. That means that if you are struggling and fighting and clawing in your current situation, just trying to keep your head above water, God has a reason for it. He’s strong enough to pull you out…there’s no doubt about that. “THEN WHY THE HECK DOESN’T HE!!!” You scream. I can’t answer that. But He can. And I promise you, because I’ve walked through the same kind of thing, when you get through this season (and you WILL get through this season) you will see why He stretched you the way that He did.

 

And even though you may not see it now…believe it or not, you will thank Him for the storm because it made you more like Christ.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

