June 21, 2017

June 21, 2017

PSALM 36-39

Focus Verse: Sacrifice and meal offering You have not desired;
My ears You have opened;
Burnt offering and sin offering You have not required.
Then I said, “Behold, I come;
In the scroll of the book it is written of me.
I delight to do Your will, O my God;
Your Law is within my heart.”
Psalm 40:6-8

 

I love this. God doesn’t want sacrifices and offerings – He just wants YOU! Hebrews 10:5-10 shows us how Jesus lived out these verses, and we are called to do the same.

 

It’s a beautiful thing, that God doesn’t want anything more than us. He doesn’t want your works, He doesn’t want your possessions, He just wants a relationship with you. That’s mind blowing. The God of the universe, the One who created everything you see around, everything you can imagine, wants nothing more than YOU and a relationship with you. That’s the most beautiful thing in the world.

 

At the same time though, this is a steep commitment. Let’s face it, it’s easy to offer sacrifices and offerings, then walk away and forget all about our “church life”. In the grand scheme of things, it is much more costly to offer up your life than it is to offer any offering or sacrifice. Offering your life to God is all-inclusive, your very life becomes the offering and sacrifice.

 

Paul summarizes this perfectly in Philippians 2:17 when he says, “Even if I am being pour out as a drink offering upon the sacrifice and service of your faith, I will rejoice and share my joy with you all.” Dietrich Bonhoeffer puts it this way, “When Christ calls a man, He bids him come and die.”

 

It is a dear price to pay, to give your life over to the will of God, but I can promise you that the cost is worth it. In the end, when you give the whole of your life to Christ, there is no question you will shout from the mountain tops, “I delight to do Your will, O my God”!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

