June 20, 2017

June 20, 2017

PSALM 36-39

Focus Verse: Delight yourself in the Lord;
And He will give you the desires of your heart.
Psalm 37:5

 

This tends to be one of the more misused Bible verses that I have come across in my time as a Christ follower. I think that it’s very easy to look at this verse as a legalistic verse, that if we follow God and do everything on the ‘Christian checklist’ then he will give in to all of our demands and requests.

 

But that’s not a good reading of the qualifier of this verse, “Delight yourself in the Lord”. When we delight ourselves in the Lord, His heart becomes our heart, His desires become our desires, His will becomes our will. It has nothing to do with doing anything. It has everything to do with relationship.

 

Is God your sole desire? Or is there something you want from Him that’s more important to you than He is? Is there a relationship that you need restored that’s more important to you than God? If so, you will never get that relationship restored enough. Is there a financial blessing that’s more important to you than God? If so, then you will never be financially secure enough.

 

Set God as the sole desire of your heart and I promise you He will give you the other secondary desires as well. What I’ve found in my own life is that it’s not even that God gives me everything I thought I wanted, it’s that He changes my heart to only want the things that He wants for me.

 

I never wanted to be a pastor…until I made God the sole desire of my heart, and then, slowly, over time, He changed my heart and called me into ministry. Now there isn’t a day that goes by that I question my decision to leave my job and follow Him. But it didn’t start with me seeking a job. It started with me seeking Him.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

