June 10, 2017

June 10, 2017

JOB 32-34

Focus Verse: I gave you my full attention.
But not one of you has proved Job wrong;
none of you has answered his arguments.
Job 32:12

 

Why are you arguing?

 

Are you arguing to win or are you arguing to be right? Because I would argue that as long as you are arguing to prove the other person wrong, you’re losing the argument.

 

We love to throw Ephesians 4:15 around and speak the truth to people, but I’m afraid it is very rarely done in love. I absolutely do not believe in lying to people to make them feel good. I will never tell someone an untruth or a half truth just to make them feel good. But my goal when talking to people about issues involving my walk with Jesus is to win them to Jesus, not to prove myself right.

 

I think this can stem from what I wrote about yesterday. We don’t see everyone as equals. We see the world in good guys vs. bad guys. We who have Christ are the good guys and those who don’t are the bad guys. And that simply is not true. I love the story of Joshua in Joshua 5, when he meets the Captain of the Lord’s armies and asks him, “Are you for us or against us? Are you a good guy or a bad guy?” And the angel answers: “NO!”

 

God’s not here to win arguments for you. He’s not here to win anything for you. So you go ahead and pray those imprecatory psalms against your enemy, but I’m warning you, as long as your victory over your enemy is more important than winning your enemy to Christ, your priorities are off.

 

Our goal is never to prove someone wrong. Our goal is to prove to them how much God loves them. Let’s strive for that with everything we have.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

