June 9, 2017

June 9, 2017

JOB 29-31

Focus Verse: Did not He who made me in the womb make him,
And the same one fashion us in the womb?
Job 31:15

 

This is the truth that smashes every cultural barrier. This is the truth that makes serving the poor, fighting injustice, feeding the hungry and every other act of service toward mankind mandatory. It’s not optional. God made all of us and loves all of us; therefore we do not get to choose whom we love and whom we will serve.

 

And it goes even deeper than that. It means that we are no better than anyone else. Many times, we do a good job serving those less fortunate than us, but if we take an honest inventory of ourselves, our attitude for serving stinks. We don’t serve others out of love, we serve them out of pity. We think that we’re better than them, and serving them makes us feel good about ourselves. Service toward others can be one of the most dangerous forms of pride because it gets masked so well as something that has the look of service to God.

 

But it goes even deeper than that! It also means that we are no less than anyone else. I can stand in the presence of kings and queens with confidence because I am made by the King of kings and Lord of lords. There is no one that I can’t be confident in front of, because the God of the universe gave His life for me so that I could share His love with EVERYONE I come in contact with.

 

One of my favorites, Tim Keller, perfectly summarizes our position in Christ like this: “The fact that Jesus had to die for me humbled me out of my pride. The fact that Jesus was glad to die for me assured me out of my fear.” The gospel of Jesus Christ demolishes any form of bigotry or self-loathing that we can have. The same God who made you, made me. He made everyone, and one day we will all stand on the same playing field, measured by one thing: IN Christ or IN yourself. Which camp will you be in and who will you be bringing with you?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

