June 7, 2017

June 7, 2017

JOB 21-23

Focus Verse: “But He knows the way I take;
When He has tried me, I shall come forth as gold.
“My foot has held fast to His path;
I have kept His way and not turned aside.
“I have not departed from the command of His lips;
I have treasured the words of His mouth more than my necessary food.”
Job 23:10-12

 

When trials come, this is all we can hold on to. As I said a few days ago (June 2), any pain or suffering we go through, as believers in Christ, we can be assured is a trial or test to make us more like Jesus. Because Jesus took the entire wrath of God at Calvary, we can trust that we are not being punished. But knowing that it is a test and not punishment doesn’t make it hurt any less.

 

But it does offer more hope. There is no hope in punishment. With trials though, there is nothing but hope! I have run two marathons and am looking to run another one in October. With all of these races comes a heavy dose of training. The training isn’t fun, the training is painful, the training flat out sucks. It takes a whole lot of time, effort and energy and there is absolutely no reward in the training itself. But there is hope in it. There is hope that this training will help me reach my goal time in my next marathon. There is hope that, even though it’s no fun now, if I make it through the hardest days of training, the actual race will be a whole lot more fun.

 

The same can be said when we run this race with Jesus Christ. If we are running it without Him, then all of the pain and suffering you go through has no purpose. You are going through all of the training without the hope of it pushing you toward something bigger and better. But if you’re running with Jesus, all of that pain is for something. It has a purpose.

 

And when you have come out on the other end of the trial, you will come forth as gold. Jesus has promised us that!

  1. 👍 Good Word! Greetings and Blessings to you? 😇

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

