May 18, 2017

May 18, 2017

2 CHRONICLES 28-31

Focus Verse: Thus Hezekiah did throughout all Judah; and he did what was good, right and true before the Lord his God. Every work which he began in the service of the house of God in law and in commandment, seeking his God, he did with all his heart and prospered.
2 Chronicles 31:20-21

 

I don’t think I could come up with a better definition of what it means to walk with God. Hezekiah sought God first. In everything that he did, he sought God. He didn’t assume that, just because it looked right according to what he knew about the law and commandments, it was ok to go ahead with, he sought God.

 

And then, once he heard from God, he did it with all of his heart. He gave every ounce of effort he had to give in order to fulfill God’s vision.

 

I’ve talked a lot about how nothing we do is good enough for God unless we do it by His Spirit. I hope that I’ve done a good job of providing the balance on the other side of that, but I’m going to reiterate it here because it fits so well with Hezekiah’s example.

 

Too many Christians are just as irresponsible because they don’t give God enough effort. We cannot work our way into heaven. We cannot earn God’s favor. But that doesn’t mean that we shouldn’t work. I stand on Zechariah 4:6 every day, it is etched in my heart and is at the very core of who I am…‘“Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit’ says the Lord of Hosts.”

 

I CAN DO NOTHING without Jesus Christ as my Savior and the Holy Spirit as my power. But that DOES NOT mean that I do nothing. I work and serve until I am exhausted – or as Paul says in Philippians 2:17, “Even if I am being poured out as a drink offering upon the sacrifice and service of your faith, I will rejoice and share my joy with you all.”

 

We MUST seek the Lord first and rely completely on Him for His power to do in us what we could never do on our own, but then we need to pour that power out! When we reach the end of the day, it should feel like we’ve poured out everything we have to give.

 

We are PRIVILEDGED to serve the God of the universe! Pour your life out for Him! Give Him everything you have to give! Seek Him first, trust in HIS power, and then pour it out!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

