May 8, 2017

May 8, 2017

1 CHRONICLES 22-24

Focus Verse: They are to stand every morning to thank and to praise the Lord, and likewise at evening
1 Chronicles 23:30

 

Twice a day, every day, three hundred and sixty five days a year. That’s how often the Levites gave thanks and praised the Lord. And that was the minimum requirement. In all actuality, they probably praised Him even more than that!

 

I think we have lost the art of praise in the church today. Once again, I’m generalizing here. Not everyone has lost the art of praise. There are dear saints that I know of who praise and thank God all the time. You can always spot them by the overwhelming joy on their face at all times.

 

I’ll be honest, I felt convicted when I read this passage this morning. I complain WAY more than I praise. I’d say a good 70% of my prayers are complaining to God about the things that I wish He would change and 30% (and that’s being pretty generous to me) is thanking Him and praising Him for all He has done for me.

 

Now I’ve gone through seasons where I’ve praised Him through it all. And they have been some of the best seasons of my life. Praise and thanksgiving to God is infectious; it’s addictive. That why I can be so confident in saying that the Levites most likely didn’t just praise God twice a day. When we praise God, it just makes us want to praise Him more. So what starts as praising Him once a day, very quickly progresses to two times a day, which turns into three times, four times, until eventually you are praising God continuously.

 

And when you praise God continuously, there’s no time to complain! We tend to get sidetracked though. A problem comes up that we can’t deal with, some tragedy strikes and we forget about all of the times God has been faithful in the past. We start to slip out of our praise routine and just as quickly as we got to praising Him continuously, we drop to complaining all the time.

 

But there’s good news! (There always is with Jesus) Like the passage from yesterday notes, it’s never too late to turn around. We can turn that mourning into dancing, our weeping into laughter, our trials into victories. Well, we can’t, but God can! And if we turn from our pity parties and start praising Him, His faithfulness will completely change our outlook on life.

 

Let’s start praising Him today!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

