May 6, 21017

May 6, 2017

1 CHRONICLES 15-17

Focus Verse: Seek the Lord and His strength;
Seek His face continually.
1 Chronicles 16:11

 

This is what I want on my tombstone. This is what I want people to say about me at my funeral. This is what I want people to tell others when they talk about me behind my back. “Here is a man who seeks God’s face continually.”

 

It’s more than asking God’s opinion on tough situations. It’s more than asking for Him to carry you through hard times. Seeking God’s face is deeply personal. It’s uncomfortable to look into the face of a stranger for a long time. I was just on an elevator with a stranger last night and was reminded how awkward it is to make eye contact while riding in an elevator with someone. Imagine looking into a stranger’s face continually!

 

But that’s what God wants from us. Not adherence to a set of rules, not perfect performance, not suffering for suffering’s sake, but a deeply intimate, deeply personal relationship. The kind of relationship that changes you and me. The kind of intimacy that allows God to speak hard truth and allows us to accept it as loving correction.

 

We’re not seeking after dogma. We’re not seeking theology. We are seeking the face of a real, personal God. I love good, sound theology, but it’s only a roadmap to the real thing. Because when you stare into the face of God, when He becomes that real to you, you realize that there was nothing in the soundest of theology, nothing in the surest of doctrine, that could prepare you for the real thing. He is so much higher, so much greater, so much stronger, so much holier…

 

Seek His face continually.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

