April 19, 2017

April 19, 2017

1 KINGS 18-20

Focus Verse: It will come about when I leave you that the Spirit of the Lord will carry you where I do not know; so when I come and tell Ahab and he cannot find you, he will kill me, although I your servant have feared the Lord from my youth.
1 Kings 18:12

 

Elijah apparently has a bit of a reputation…at least in Obadiah’s mind. King Ahab has been looking for Elijah for a long time, and if anyone claimed to know where Elijah was and Ahab didn’t find him there, that person was killed. This is what Obadiah is worried about here.

 

But what a reputation that would be! I can’t think of a better compliment. Now I’m fully aware that I should probably be careful what I wish for here, but wouldn’t this be fantastic? To be so in tune with the Holy Spirit that no one knows where we will end up within the 24 hours in a day. Unfortunately, the first thing that pops into your head was probably the first thing that popped into mine: well that’s not a compliment at all…that would make Elijah a horribly unreliable person. How is that a good thing?

 

But that’s how much we let our schedules dictate us. That’s how structured we are. And that’s how structured we want God to be in our lives. Look at your life for a second. I will tell you what my life says to God: “God, I have a lot of work I need to do today. So I need You to speak to me between the hours of 4am and 5am. At 5 I am going to go for a long run and try to workout, then You’re pretty much on the back burner the rest of the day. So if You want to have me do something crazy for Your kingdom, it’s gonna have to happen pretty quick here.”

 

We all realize how ridiculous that sounds, right? No one would actually say that to God, but how much room does He have to wreck the plans you have today? How much authority does He have over your life to step in and demand that kind of obedience from you?

 

Following Jesus ought to be the most incredible adventure of our lives.

 

Holy Spirit, help us to be this radically obedient to You.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

