April 14, 2017

April 14, 2017

1 KINGS 6-7

Focus Verse: Now the word of the Lord came to Solomon saying, “Concerning this house which you are building, if you will walk in My statutes and execute My ordinances and keep all My commandments by walking in them, then I will carry out My word with you which I spoke to David your father. I will dwell among the sons of Israel, and will not forsake My people Israel.”
1 Kings 6:11-13

 

We need to set our priorities straight here: God promised to dwell among His people and never forsake them as long as they kept His commandments by walking in them. He did start living among them as soon as Solomon completed the Temple. He didn’t even start dwelling with them when Moses completed the movable Tabernacle. God has always been with His people.

 

Now I absolutely believe that God desires that we give Him our best. We see this throughout the Old and New Testaments. But no matter what we do with excellence, if we aren’t keeping His commandments by walking in them, God isn’t interested in anything else we do. I am the Worship Pastor at our church, and I try to be as excellent as I can musically for the Lord. I practice my guitar and warm up my voice. I try to arrange the songs that we do to the best of my ability and I encourage our worship team to practice the songs as much as they can as well.

 

But all of this is just noise if our hearts aren’t right with God. If I’m not walking in fellowship with God off the stage, He isn’t going to care what I give to Him when I’m on the stage. The excellence of our hearts trumps everything. There is no skill in the world that is going to impress God (read yesterday’s devotional if you need a reminder on that). But a humble and contrite heart…that will get God’s blessing every time!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

