April 6, 2017

April 6, 2017

2 SAMUEL 4-7

Focus Verse: But when David returned to bless his household, Michal the daughter of Saul came out to meet David and said, “How the king of Israel distinguished himself today! He uncovered himself today in the eyes of his servants’ maids as one of the foolish ones shamelessly uncovers himself!” So David said to Michal, “It was before the Lord, who chose me above your father and above all his house, to appoint me ruler over the people of the Lord, over Israel; therefore I will celebrate before the Lord. I will be more lightly esteemed than this and will be humble in my own eyes, but with the maids of whom you have spoken, with them I will be distinguished.” Michal the daughter of Saul had no child to the day of her death.
2 Samuel 6:20-23

 

This is one of my favorite passages of scripture. Those who know me well enough know that I can get pretty excited when I worship the Lord. So when it says in 2 Samuel 6:14 that “David danced before the Lord with all his might…” I can get down to that! I think David and I might have to teach each other a few dance moves in eternity when we are all dancing in the presence of the Lord.

 

And when David responds to his wife, Michal’s criticism with “I will be more lightly esteemed than this and will be humble in my own eyes…” I start to get all giddy inside. I love the NIV translation, “I will become even more undignified than this…” When is the last time you’ve allowed yourself to get undignified in your worship of God? I think a lot of times we allow ourselves to be too dignified before the Lord. We all wear our Sunday best, dress up in our suits and dresses and head out to worship the Lord for thirty minutes. Now I don’t think there’s anything wrong with dressing up for God, giving Him our best and showing respect for Him, but if you’re going to have a hard time hitting your knees in those fancy slacks…put on some work jeans that you don’t mind getting dirty! If you can jump around in that dress while you’re entering His gates with praise and thanksgiving, then wear your best active wear and get ready to sweat!

 

I will never believe that God cares what we wear while we worship Him as long as our hearts are on fire for Him. But you know who does care? The people around us. So why do we dress up for church? Why do we hold back while we’re singing His praises? Why aren’t there more people “ugly crying” at the altars at every single church service across the globe?

 

And I’m afraid the answer is because we would rather be dignified in the eyes of people. Have we hit on this topic at all lately?

 

David didn’t care what people thought about him. He didn’t care what his own wife though about him. David knew that in the eyes of those who were truly following the Lord, the servant girls in this passage, he would find favor. How did he know this? Because he knew God. Because he knew that they knew God. And when you really KNOW God; when you’ve experienced Him in His fullness – His goodness, His mercy, His grace, His power – you can’t help but live and entire life of undignified worship before Him.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

