April 2, 2017

April 2, 2017

1 SAMUEL 21-24

Focus Verse: The Lord therefore be judge and decide between you and me; and may He see and plead my cause and deliver me from your hand.”
1 Samuel 24:15

 

This isn’t a popular stance in Christianity today and I’m not really sure when it shifted. If I had to venture a guess – and that is all it would be, a guess – I would say that it has something to do with the shift in our western culture toward individualism. There is a real danger in it though when it comes to our walk with God.

 

All throughout the scriptures, there is a level of dependency that is required of us in order to walk with God. That level is complete. Anyone who does anything of significance for the Kingdom of God is completely surrendered to His will and His way. This means that God fights for them, that God provides for them, that God defends them.

 

But we seem to be opposed to that idea today. We want to work for it. We want to have something to do with our battles. We want our names in the history books of people who did amazing things for God. The longer I walk with God, the more I am convinced that this is completely backwards.

 

I have no doubt that the names recorded in the Bible will be greatly honored in heaven. We will meet the heroes of the faith like David and Moses, but before we can even think of shaking their hand, the glory of God will grab our attention to the point where we don’t remember who David or Moses are. And I firmly believe that David and Moses would have it no other way.

 

I don’t want my name in a history book. I don’t want people to look back at my life and see great things I did for Jesus. I want people to look back at my life and see nothing but Christ. If people forget entirely about me (even while I’m still living) but remember my God, that is the sweetest victory of all!

 

But in order to make that a reality, God has to have it all. We have to let Him defend us, like David did here with Saul. That means the bad guys will pull one over on us on occasion, and we will be forced to forgive them. How do I know this? Because that’s what happened to Jesus. If the world did it to the King of God’s Kingdom, we can’t expect anything else.

 

How surrendered are you to Him today?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

