February 24, 2017

February 24, 2017

NUMBERS 31-32

Focus Verse: But Moses was furious with all the generals and captains who had returned from the battle. ‘Why have you let all the women live?’ He demanded. ‘These are the very ones who followed Balaam’s advice and caused the people of Israel to rebel against the Lord at Mount Peor. They are the ones who caused the plague to strike the Lord’s people. So kill all the boys and all the women who have had intercourse with a man.’”

Numbers 31:14-17

 

I don’t want to gloss over this. So many people do and it really frustrates me, so I’m not going to. God wipes out the Midianite men in this battle. I don’t know that a whole lot of people get super upset about this…it’s war. It’s the next part that I have trouble reconciling. Moses gets upset with the generals and captains because they don’t kill the women and children as well. That’s not war. That’s slaughter.

This is the kind of stuff that makes people walk away from the faith. I’ll be 100% honest, it’s hard to reconcile this event with a God who loves everyone and wants to see all of His creation come to know Him. 2 Peter 3:9 tells us that God doesn’t want anyone to perish, but everyone to repent. But how does this verse make any sort of sense in light of this event?

And I’m going to go to the cop out answer (according to skeptics): you just have to trust that God knows what He’s doing. If there is a God who operates outside of time, if He knows all things, knows every outcome of every decision (we could get into a rousing debate about predestination right now off of this, but I’ll save that for another day) we ever make, then we have to trust that His will has the ultimately best outcome.

Imagine you own two super-computes than run some sort of risk analysis for you. The first analyzes only the events that impact you and your immediate future while the other analyzes every event from the beginning to the end of time, for not only you, but every human being who ever has, is or will be walking this planet. That’s God’s will versus ours.

Great analogy right? Not really, because if this is a concept that you struggle with, no analogy in the world is going to help you. The only thing that will is a relationship.

My closest, earthly relationship is with my wife. My wife can tell me things about myself that no one else can (without the fear of getting some sort of retaliation). That is only because I trust her completely though. I know she loves me and I know she has my best interest in mind. This is the point we have to get to with God. It’s not something that happens overnight…what relationship does?

So don’t start here in Numbers 31 if you have questions. Start with a relationship. Let God show you who He is, how faithful He is, how much He loves you. And then ask Him about Numbers 31. Ask Him about the passages that confuse you and make you uncomfortable. That’s why this Christianity thing is so different from any other religion.

He is here for you. He will teach you personally, through a relationship. All you have to do is ask.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

