February 23, 2017

February 23, 2017

NUMBERS 28-30

Focus Verse: “Then Moses summoned the leaders of the tribes of Israel and told them, ‘This is what the Lord has commanded: A man who makes a vow to the Lord or makes a pledge under oath must never break it. He must do exactly what he said he would do.’”

Numbers 30:1-2

 

Oh it’s getting hot in here today! I think this is the one area that we let ourselves get so relaxed on. And I am sure there are those reading this right now (I can be sure because if I did it, I can be fairly certain I’m not the only one) who immediately started wiggling their way out of these chains. Mine went like this: “Well this is a promise to God. This is like an official oath…like in court or something.”

Anyone in my boat here?

But all of our excuses fall short. In fact, anytime you start wiggling out of ANY Bible verse, you need to dig in. Stop wiggling and let God work! Let the Holy Spirit convict. Let His Word get down deep into your heart. This is the ONLY way to truly be God’s man or woman. You have to be willing to change the things that God says need to be changed.

Clearly this is one of those things in me. I lie too much. Now I don’t call them lies. I call them forgetfulness or selective memory or something nice and comfortable…something that gives me my wiggle room. Fact of the matter is, I don’t do what I say I’m going to do. Sometimes those promises are to God, sometimes those promises are to people.

I tell God that I’m going to wake up early and pray tomorrow. When tomorrow comes though, I’m just too tired to get up. Surely God understands though. He loves me. But that doesn’t help the fact that I still didn’t do what I told God I would. Let’s apply the same principle, but to people. This one is going to slay some of you (again, because this is the one that got me). I tell someone, “Man, that situation stinks. I’ll say a prayer for you.” Do you always follow through? I don’t. At least I haven’t. Jesus is working on me in this area. But only because I let Him.

So whether this is your struggle or not, let’s ask this question today: Are you letting the Word of God change you? Once again, if you aren’t, you are trying to live in His Kingdom on your terms. And as we already covered yesterday, that just won’t work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

