February 10, 2017

February 10, 2017

LEVITICUS 26-27

Focus Verse: “But if they will confess their sins and the sins of their fathers – their treachery against me and their hostility toward me, which made me hostile toward them so that I sent them into the land of their enemies – then when their uncircumcised hearts are humbled and they pay for their sin, I will remember my covenant with Jacob and my covenant with Isaac and my covenant with Abraham, and I will remember the land.”

Leviticus 26:40-42

 

Leviticus 26 is the blessing or curse chapter. What happens if you obey the Lord versus what happens if you fail to obey Him. The main gist comes down to this: if you obey the Lord, He walks with you, gives you His presence and everything that comes with that, He enters into relationship with you. On the flip side, if you choose to go your own way, God doesn’t just ignore you, but He actually fights against you.

 

But then this passage comes along. Even in the midst of the promise, God knew what the outcome would be. Go knew that there was no possible way for the Israelites to keep these promises to Him. “Then why give them at all?” some have asked. Because there’s an expectation. God is still a God of justice, and whether we want to admit it or not, we have that same justice written on our hearts, whether we are following Him or not.

 

It’s like when I tell my kids to clean up their toys in the basement. I know that there is absolutely no way that they’ll do it on their own. I know, deep down, that the only way they’ll end up doing it is if I go down and help them. They simply cannot do it without me.

 

And God knew the same. So Jesus came. Now, all we have to do is humble our hearts and ask Him to help us. It’s a very hard first step for us to take, especially for those of us (including myself here) who struggle with pride. But it’s a requirement. We have to be humbled before we are able to submit to the lordship of a Savior. But once we humble our hearts, God takes over and upholds both ends of the covenant He made with us.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

