February 2, 2017

February 2, 2017

LEVITICUS 5-7

Focus Verse: “Or if a person thoughtlessly takes an oath to do anything, whether good or evil – in any matter one might carelessly swear about – even though he is unaware of it, in any case when he learns of it he will be guilty.”

Leviticus 5:4

Alright, I hate to do this, but I’m going to make a quick disclaimer before we start in on today’s reading. These passages in Leviticus can get very heated, very quickly. I’m not doing it. I’m not getting into debates about what is right and what is wrong and what still pertains to us today and what doesn’t. Outside of the context of a relationship there is no good way to have these discussions. So if you would like to become friends and do life together first, then I am more than happy to have those conversations with you, but I am not getting into anonymous wars with anyone. You can go to Facebook for that.

I do want to point out quickly also, Jeremy Alan Metzger doesn’t dictate truth. You don’t either. If you believe in a God who is interested in a relationship, then you have to also come to the realization that you are going to disagree with this relational God at some point. If you don’t, then you are the god and you are simply serving your own interests. But if there is a perfect being out there, and we are His imperfect (through the fall) creation, it’s only logical to assume He is going to tell us things about ourselves we need to change that we won’t like. But let’s get rid of this idea that us agreeing with something stated provides any evidence for it being any more or less true.

Ok…that’s done! Now on with the show.

I love this rule that God gives the Israelites (again, not that it matters what my opinion is or not). I was actually quite convicted when I read this, and I think we all probably should be to some degree. But God is laying out this idea here, that you can make a good oath, and still be wrong in doing so if you do it flippantly.

So what matters here? What’s the heart behind this? Letting our “Yes” be yes and our “No” be no, but even more, knowing when we make the promise that our “Yes” means yes and our “No” means no.

I wrote about this in yesterday’s devotional. God doesn’t want a sacrifice that isn’t thought out. He wants us to PAY ATTENTION to what we are giving Him. I think He is telling us here to extend that courtesy to other people as well.

Pay attention to your promises. Don’t tell someone that you’re going to do something if you don’t intend to. Even if you follow through on the promise, it’s still wrong to tell them that unless you intend to do it.

I have failed the most in this area when it comes to telling people that I’ll pray for them. It’s almost the Christian “get out of jail free” card. A nice way to wrap up the conversation and get on my way. But I rarely mean it. Half the time I don’t even remember what they told me. Thankfully God has been working on me in this. I’ve starting writing prayers down when I tell people I’ll be praying with them or for them.

We need to do this in all things. Pay attention to what you’re telling people. God remembers all of His promises. He makes none of them lightly. We shouldn’t either.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

