January 28,2017

January 28, 2017

EXODUS 30-32

Focus Verse: “See, I have chosen Bezalel son of Uri, the son of Hur, of the tribe of Judah, and I have filled him with the Spirit of God, with skill, ability and knowledge in all kinds of crafts…”

Exodus 31:2-3

There is a quote that I first read from Pastor and author Mark Batterson that changed my life. It went like this: “God doesn’t call the qualified; He qualifies the called.” That quote came to me in a point of life in which I doubted my calling, doubted my ability, pretty much doubted everything. While I can’t say that I am now super confident in my ability (I hope I never am), I am confident in the One who calls me and that He has indeed called me to do exactly what I’m doing.

There is something else in play here though. God, unquestionably, has called this man, Bezalel, and if we read on, has also called his friend, Oholiab, to help. He’s made that much clear to Moses.

Every Christian leadership book in the world will tell you that God won’t call you to do something without giving you the ability to do it, but the thing we overlook so often is that sometimes that ability is found in someone God has sent to help.

But we live in a social media world where comparison has killed us. We are terrified to let someone else have a chance for fear that the people will start turning to us less and eventually forget about us. But if we are doing our job as Spirit-filled Christians (you know, pointing everyone to Christ) people SHOULD be turning to you less and eventually forgetting about you. But how are we going to become a New York Times bestselling author if that happens? Heaven forbid people turn to the Holy Spirit (you know…like the Bible says to do) to teach them all things and lead them into all truth.

There’s something else here too though. As leaders, if you fail to give other people the opportunity to use their talents, even if they might not do it as well as you right away, you are essentially robbing them of the opportunity to experience God’s power using them for His kingdom purposes.

We have to let the Body of Christ, His Church, use the things with which we (but in all honesty, it should be God) are equipping them. No one will tell you the Church shouldn’t be equipping the saints. Then why don’t we let them use what they’ve been equipped with?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

