January 27, 2017

January 27, 2017

EXODUS 28-29

Focus Verse: “Make linen undergarments as a covering for the body, reaching from the waist to the thigh. Aaron and his sons must wear them whenever they enter the Tent of Meeting or approach the altar to minister in the Holy Place, so that they will not incur guilt and die. This is to be a lasting ordinance for Aaron and his descendants.”

Exodus 28:42-43

Yup. That’s a weird one. Aaron and his sons had to wear the right set of briefs when entering the Lord’s presence or they faced a death sentence. Pretty extreme.

I think we need to get back to that extreme in a sense though. I read this passage last year when I was reading through the Bible in a year, and I remember asking God, “Why Lord? Why would you care what kind of underwear the priests wear?” And He answered me! God demands excellence. When God formed you in the womb, He didn’t do it half-heartedly, He went all in and made you perfect in His eyes.

When God planned your salvation, He didn’t plan for a covering that would save you under certain circumstances. He gave His One and only Son to make sure that you would be covered once and for all. Perfectly. Completely.

So why do we give God anything less?

Now I work in a church, so I know that the people I work with and I give God our best, but if I can be completely transparent with my walk with God, and what I have noticed with others as well, we give God our best in the areas we really want to focus on, but let other things slip.

I love worship. So I give God everything I have in our worship sets. I pour into the music, I make sure our transitions are tight, I do everything in my power to make sure there is a dynamic flow to our set. I give God the best of what I have to offer.

But I am not super comfortable with our lighting program. So instead of learning how to become good with it, I do the bare minimum. I don’t do it with any excellence.

“Well the disciples didn’t have fancy laser light shows and people still got saved.” Is the typical cry from the church curmudgeon against these “newfangled lights”. The disciples didn’t have lights period, so you should probably stop using yours.

I kid…I kid. I agree with that to a point. I think there can be a lot more show than substance with some people. But if we apply “the underwear principle”, shouldn’t we be doing our best for God in every aspect of the things we have control over?

It’s not about the lights. Just like this law wasn’t about the underwear. It’s about our hearts. Are you giving God your best? Down to the smallest detail? Or are there things that are easier to blow off because, “God wouldn’t care about that little thing.”

I assure you, He does care. He cares about every detail of your life. And if you’ll give it to Him, He will tell you exactly how to do it His way. We cannot expect to live in the kingdom of God man’s way.

And that’s the last part of this, are you doing with excellence the things God has asked you to do with excellence? If God wants you to wear boxers while your ministering, you better not show up in a $200 pair of briefs. If God doesn’t want me messing with the lights in our sanctuary, then I’m leaving them alone! If He tells me he doesn’t want any worship music this Sunday, then I’m not going to prepare any worship music. I’ll even cut everything I have planned to give Him what He wants (and pray He has the same conversation with the Lead Pastor).

Listen to God.

Obey God.

Give Him everything we’ve got to give.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

